WHAT IS A CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION?

Simply put, a way to get your life back.

Certificate of Rehabilitation

Obtain a Certificate of Rehabilitation


If you went to state prison, you will need to obtain a Certificate of Rehabilitation rather than an expungement.

A California Certificate of Rehabilitation is granted by a court to designate that you are rehabilitated and that the offense should not be used to deny you licensing opportunities. Furthermore, most certificates instantly submit a pardon application with the Governor’s office.

Once you obtain a California Certificate of Rehabilitation you will no longer be able to be denied a license for employment purposes. Depending on the nature of your employment, this is tremendous relief. You will also be able to finally put your conviction behind and move forward with your life.

Lifeback Legal is a division of the law firm of Shea M. Randall. We are experienced California Certificate of Rehabilitation attorneys who can help you obtain a Certificate. We understand your desire to have a confidential advocate and are here to assist you.

Sign up online today or contact our office now to speak with a California Certificate of Rehabilitation lawyer today.

Get your life back
with Lifeback Legal.



Sign up online today and begin your Certificate of Rehabilitation for as low as $250

    Thousands of Certificates granted.

    • Case handled by California licensed attorneys.
    • Expedited filing on all Certificate applications
    • Affordable, flat fees including attorney fees.
    • Interest-free payment plans.
    • 14-day price matching guarantee.

    California Criminal Record Expungements

    Need assistance?
    Call (888) 751-5329 for a free consultation.

     

    HOW DO I KNOW IF I QUALIFY FOR A CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION?

    Sign up online for a case analysis or contact one of experienced attorneys today.


    You qualify for a California Certificate of Rehabilitation if you have a felony case or a misdemeanor case which requires sex offender registration. Furthermore, the only offenses which are ineligible for a certificate are cases with:

    • Mandatory life parole
    • Persons committed under death sentences
    • Persons convicted of a violation of Section 269, subdivision (c) of Section 286, Section 288, subdivision (c) of Section 288a, Section 288.5, Section 288.7, or subdivision (j) of Section 289, or
    • Persons in military service.

    CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION WAIT PERIODS


    To be eligible you must also meet the required wait period and residency requirement. As to residency requirement, you must have lived in CA for 5 years immediately preceding filing for a certificate of rehabilitation after discharge from custody/release on parole or probation. In addition to the 5 years residency requirement, there is an additional 4 year wait if you were convicted of Section 187, 209, 219, 4500, or 18755 of this code, or subdivision (a) of Section 1672 of the Military and Veterans Code, or of committing any other offense which carries a life sentence.

    Certificate of Rehabilitation

    Have confidence obtaining a new job.


    Feel confident in a job interview that your past is truly behind you.

    CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION FOR SEX OFFENSES


    In addition to the 5 years residency requirement there is an additional 5 year wait if you were convicted committing an offense or attempted offense for which sex offender registration is required pursuant to Section 290, except that in the case of a person convicted of a violation of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2, or of Section 311.3, 311.10, or 314, an additional two years. Furthermore, there is an additional two year wait period if a person was convicted of committing an offense that is not listed in paragraph (1) or paragraph (2) and that does not carry a life sentence.

    BEST TO PAY YOUR FINES BEFORE APPLYING FOR A CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION


    Please note that a California Certificate of Rehabilitation is not available if you have not paid your fines and restitution, and completed all court ordered classes and programs. Also, if you are serving a sentence for another offense, you should wait until after you complete the sentence. You also must demonstrate that you “shall live an honest and upright life, shall conduct himself or herself with sobriety and industry, shall exhibit a good moral character, and shall conform to and obey the laws of the land.” If it is a sex offense, you must also show that you do not present a continuing threat to minors, generally with a psychiatric evaluation.


    SOMETIMES EXPUNGEMENTS ARE REQUIRED FOR A CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION


    Finally, in certain cases, we must apply to have your case dismissed pursuant to California Penal Code 1203.4 prior to filing for a California Certificate of Rehabilitation. This is required when you were never incarcerated in prison.

    MY CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION WAS DENIED. NOW WHAT?


    If you previously applied for a California Certificate of Rehabilitation, either by yourself (pro per) or with an attorney, a denial isn’t necessarily the end of the road. A California Certificate of Rehabilitation is always possible to obtain if you meet the eligibility requirements. We can look at your old case documents and determine if a refile is in your best interest and we can also help you to determine your chances. Furthermore, we are able to submit a California Certificate of Rehabilitation petition for you which distinguishes you from the self-represented by using our experience and data gathering techniques to differentiate your new application from your old one.



    FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS


    Eligibility and Process


    Benefits


     

    HOW DO I GET STARTED?

    Once you hire us, Lifeback Legal handles everything for you.


    Certificate of Rehabilitation

    Shea M. Randall

    Founding Attorney

    The entire process for a California certificate of rehabilitation takes anywhere from several months to a year, depending on the complexity of the case and the case load involved in the Court in which you file. This is why we expedite your filing to get it submitted to the court as quickly as possible.

    Once filed, the prosecutor will be given time to respond. After the prosecutor responds, it then goes before the judge. We will represent you at all required hearings and you will not be required to attend. If your case was a sex offense or very serious, then your chances of success are lower, but everything is decided on a case by case basis.

    Lifeback Legal is a division of the Law Firm of Shea M. Randall, a trusted California Law Firm. We specialize in helping individuals get their life back with California criminal record expungements and federal licensing services. We are a full service Law Firm — from gathering documentation, hand-crafting petitions, and dealing with the headache of the Courts.

    When you contact our office you will be in direct contact with our founding attorney, Mr. Shea M. Randall. Mr. Randall provides outstanding one-on-one communication with clients to ensure all of your legal needs are met.

    Sign up online today for a case analysis or by contacting our office today at (888) 751-5329.

    Certificate of Rehabilitation
    $1,725*
    Payment Options Available. Begin For Only $49
    Flat fee. Transparent pricing.
    Sign up for Case Analysis

    INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING:

    • Case handled 100% by a California Licensed Attorney
    • Filing Fees Included
    • Expedited Filing
    • Fixed, Flat Fee
    • Outstanding Customer Service

    * The Governor can only grant a pardon if your record includes only one felony. If there are more, then the pardon must be approved by the CA Supreme Court prior to the Governor’s office. In addition, some courts require sex offenders to obtain a psychological evaluation prior to granting a certificate.

    Get your life back
    with Lifeback Legal.



    Sign up online today and begin your Certificate of Rehabilitation for as low as $250

      Thousands of Certificates granted.

      • Case handled by California licensed attorneys.
      • Expedited filing on all Certificate applications
      • Affordable, flat fees including attorney fees.
      • Interest-free payment plans.
      • 14-day price matching guarantee.
      California Criminal Record Expungements

      Need assistance?
      Call (888) 751-5329 for a free consultation.